- The referee in the Brock Lesnar vs. Undertaker match didn't know the end result. The Wrestling Observer Newsletter reports that Chad Patton was actually informed ahead of the match that Undertaker would win, but complied with the rule given to all WWE referees. That rules is that if a wrestler does not kick out, you go ahead and finish with the three count as if it were exactly what was planned.
The site also reports that Lesnar privately whispered "thank you" to Undertaker immediately following the three count to express his gratitude for the honor of breaking the Streak.
Read more at http://www.411mania.com/wrestling/news/319236/Referee-Chad-Patton-Was-Unaware-Brock-Lesnar-Would-Beat-Undertaker.htm#8djsQitXZVkVlsr8.99